What readers are saying...

An Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Expert Reviewer 2010, says, “Recycled Souls grabs the reader with a personal but very absorbing story, projecting the main character's emotions with unusual intensity. This contemporary Young Adult excerpt is written in the first person, from Elizabeth's point of view. Uprooted from her home, teenaged Elizabeth moves to Ireland with her mother and step-father. The writing style, expressive of a young girls' experience and accentuated by a dreamy present tense style, offers an excellent read.”

★ ★ ★ ★ Fantasy Recommended Readers: Pre-Teen+ Chapters

Holy cow! This novel has me wanting to read more! I can’t stop thinking about this novel. You get a sense of what the team is enduring, fear, anxiety, confusion, etc. Yet at the same time you are cheering them on, praying they survive. There is a touch of a romance between Genesis and Eli (another team member) and that provides the hope in the story, hope that all will end well. DM Pennington on February 16, 2018


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ loooove it

I'm not really into zombies. But, this book is not your average zombie story. Genesis is so much more than a zombie. She is a normal teenager for 16 years, not knowing that there is something wrong with her. That her parents aren't really her parents, that she is an experiment, along with nine other kids. When her heart stops beating and she's not breathing anymore, she thinks she's going to die. But she's not. Instead she is shipped to a location, far away, to meet the other nine "experiments" and train to become a fighter for humanity - against zombies. I loved the story it's fast paced and action filled. Once started I literally couldn't stop reading. I kept turning page after page and got so absorbed that the world around me just fell away. I loved Genesis and all the other characters. Well, maybe I didn't love Amelia and Finn. And I really, really hope that there will be more books about the not-zombies and the new world created by Genesis "father" and his team. Alex_K on June 5, 2018

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Moving

Her stepfather has decided to move the family to Ireland but she does not want to go. All she wants is to go back that she does not see him at first. Then she starts to learn about things around her. What will she learn? Where will she want to be? See what she learns. Tanyawriter on December 8, 2019


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ❤️❤️❤️ This is such a Sweet story!

The writing draws you in and keeps you involved throughout the whole story, I found myself in love with not only the characters but also the world that was created. The descriptions of the characters and their feelings are so involved, you can truly picture it in your mind. Their attitudes toward the events that are happening makes the story even richer. 💤💋Sleep_Reader💋💤 on November 15, 2019


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Love Reincarnated

I really liked this book. I can’t wait to dive into the second instalment. From the beginning I was worried about it being a steamy novel but every time, it was kept clean and this really made all the difference! I’ve never read any books on the idea of reincarnated souls and love and destiny. It made for a very unique read and kept the angst level simmering, ever there, in the background. And...it broke my heart. Michaela on October 12, 2019


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Good read

This story is for the teen or young adult. It is an intense love story with a surprising ending that hopefully leads to a sequel for the book. A very surprising look at the depth of love between two teens and the maturity that in which they handle themselves. fischer on October 3, 2019


★ ★ ★ ★ Good Read

The book is a good teen and young adult sweet romance read. The story has a good story line. The characters are good. The story is an enjoyable sweet romance read. Kimberly on September 22, 2019


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ A 5 STAR RECOMMENDED BOOK!!!

Wow, what a powerful story this is! I felt like I was on an emotional roller coaster as I was alternately so happy and so sad for Elizabeth during her different circumstances (no spoilers though)... That is a sign of a good book when it gets you so emotionally involved! Lynette has become one of my favorite Indie authors as all her books that I have read draw you in and you don't want to put them down because you just have to know what is going to happen next! I love the premise of a book about "recycled souls" as I do believe in soulmates and destiny! I highly recommend this book and I cannot wait to read more from this talented author! Kindle Customer on December 9, 2016


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Like A Roller-coaster Ride

OMG I felt like I was on a roller-coaster ride when I read this book. The emotions of being a teenager, experiencing being the new kid in town, of first love, loss, rejection, of hope for happiness when all odds are against you - and then getting hurt, pushing everything away - until love comes to find you and makes you start all over again. It's a wonderful and amazing book you'll think about after you finish. You may even want to go back and read it again. I know I'm going to. Just one more chapter! on October 6, 2016


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ A great story

This story had me on the edge of my seat from start to finish. The love Jared and Elizabeth feel for each other was touching. Jared was so dedicated to Elizabeth after the accident and it broke my heart when, thinking she was 'saving' him, she chased him away. This book will make you cry! I loved it! Love To Read! on June 30, 2015


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Read this Now!

This book has been released in the past (this life, not a previous one...just to clarify!) and I read it. And then I read it again. And again. And again. My summary for this book in the past was "Everything happens for a reason". Trust me, it's true. And that is the reason you should read this book. ASAP! This is one of those special ones, ones that have moments where you just have to put the book down to try to grasp what you've just read - and then re-read it - because it's just that good. And as a teaser - there is a voice mail in this book that will rip your still-beating heart out of your chest, hurl it across the room, where lephrechans (it takes place in Ireland, so why not) will then jump all over it. The author knows how to do emotions so, so well. I love this book. You will too. Scott R. on September 23, 2013

★ ★ ★ ★ Good book

Good read, story was cute. Interesting story-line as well. Characters were well written and definitely wanted to see what happens next. ardelongbooklover on January 27, 2020


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Heartwarming and heartbreaking

Megan was forced to face what girls are often left to face alone at a young age when sex is involved. Marcus was supporting his sister with her teenage pregnancy and her decision when he falls for Megan. Sixteen and pregnant Megan decides to keep her baby after much deliberation and support. Real life issues with real life problems and situations. Heartwarming yet heartbreaking at times. Great story. Elizabeth McDaniel on January 3, 2020


★ ★ ★ ★ Quick Read

A story of unforbidden love and the consequences. She finds out she's pregnant and he doesn't care. When she goes to a support group she meets the brother of another girl that is in support and they eventually build a friendship that he hopes will be more. She doesn't think there is room for that, but it has a HEA even with them being so young. fischer on December 16, 2019


★ ★ ★ ★ Good Read

The book is a good teen young adult romance read. The story has a good story line. The characters are good. The story is an enjoyable inspirational romance read. Kimberly on December 12, 2019


★ ★ ★ ★ teenage pregnancy

A novella following a teen girl as she sifts through the terrifying experience of an unplanned pregnancy. There were good characters. It’s tricky navigating those waters and she portrayed the different angles fairly well. Michaela on December 12, 2019


★ ★ ★ ★ Heartwarming, full of emotions and beautifully written.

A very touching story about the teens being pregnant and about all the struggles that come with it. Decisions to be made, choices that sometimes are not ours. Story about importance of family and how it really helps to have loving and understanding parents. Loved this story for its message that no matter what curve-ball life trows at us we can manage to get our dreams come true and find solace and love even if at the beginning we think our life and world just ended. Maria Loch-Bednarczyk on December 7, 2019


★ ★ ★ ★ Wow this one gets you in the ticker and pulls on all the heart strings

Although I can't grasp being young with a bun in the oven (with me being a man and all) I can however total grasp and relate the 'where do i fit in' group, especially when I was at the age these characters were. Lynette grasps normality to the point where to some extent we can all see a tiny slither of Edwina's dad in our own families not to mention the roller coaster of emotion that entails. It was also a nice breath of fresh air to see some good old family value to most notably in Megan's family and the way they sorted the story arc out, again was well done. Not many authors in my experience can pull that off, and make it believable to is a real skill. Well done there girl. The only reason I gave this book a four is this, to my mind this book could easily have been split and spread into a series of its own, if not that then it has the potential for a world of books set around Megan and the characters in orbit around her, so that we could really sink our teeth into each character and arc. But hey that's just one man's opinion. Lynette's work which I have not read before mind, had the same quality in character as published author and in my opinion queen of the YA genre, Jacqueline Wilson with the same power as that of YA's king Melvin Burgess. Miss Ferreira you have defiantly made me a fan and not just of the genre but of you as well. Author Adam C Mitchell on October 14, 2018


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ highly recommended

This one got straight to my heart. I can understand the struggle being young, pregnant and not knowing how it, and I, fit it to the life everyone expected. To see how hard Edwina took her decision made me cry and I wanted to slap her father. Why can’t families rally around in hard times? It would be so much easier. But any decision, when pregnant, is hard to make and everybody has to find what’s right for themselves. But there doesn’t have to be more pressure then there already is. So, it was sweet to see how Megan, her family and, of course, Marcus found a new way that might be just as good as the one she had to give up. An interesting, thought provoking story about love, families and being pregnant as a teen. Alex_K on June 26, 2018

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ 5 STARS!!!

What a story! I thoroughly enjoyed (Layered), as I have all the books I have read by this talented Indie author! In this story I felt very strong emotions for the characters of Caitlyn and Hannah. I worried about them, I was sad for them, I had hope for them....and it is a special book that can take the reader on such an emotional journey. The story was interesting and creative (I really liked the life simulation game), but at the same time addressed some very serious issues in a non-judgmental manner. I would definitely recommend this book to all readers! Kindle Customer on May 1, 2017


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ A Book worth reading

I cannot believe this book had me crying as much as it did. I felt Caitlyn and Hannah’s emotions through the words on the pages and those words touched me deeply. This book is a story of two girls, but not just about them. It is about every one who came into their lives as well. Layered moved me, changed me and opened up a world I had not previously read a lot about. It made me realise how sacred and precious family and friends are, and how we treat people and assume things we know about them. And most of all, just how unpredictable life can truly be, how we have the power to help people who were like Shayne, if we just opened our eyes more to the possibilities of knowing not everyone is doing okay all the time. 101LostSouls on February 21, 2015

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ First love

and an unconventional gift. Wading through the darkness of life and finding happiness. Good characters and an inspiring story. Michaela on January 19, 2020


★ ★ ★ ★ Good Read

The book is a good teen and young adult sweet romance read. The story has a good story line. The characters are good, and they have good chemistry. The story is an enjoyable read. Kimberly on January 12, 2020

I loved the whole thing. The characterization drew me right in. I feel like I know this girl and I am rooting for her... even though I know she is going to have some problems when she falls in love with the black boy. - ABNA Expert Reviewer 2011

This has been, by far, my favourite YOUNG ADULT excerpt I have read. I liked the characters, the setting and the pace of the book. It was interesting and it leaves me wanting more. - ABNA Expert Reviewer 2011

The best part of the book is the young lovers' trying to convince each other why their union would destroy their fathers. The novel covers an important topic. - ABNA Publisher Weekly Reviewer 2011

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ I loved this book

This story touched on the very real aspects of inter-race relations and how very often your mind can over-rule your heart to your own detriment. It shows not only the taboo associated with inter-race relations, but how denying your heart (in both love and career) can not only hurt yourself, but the people around you when you no longer have the strength to deny your heart’s desire. Love To Read! on June 30, 2015


★ ★ ★ ★ Romance Like Never Before

Well what do you know, its another contemporary romance novel. Is it yor typical blonde-blue-eyed beauty? No! Or is it a tall, dark, brooding ,intense but amazingly gorgeous guy? Maybe. If you read this book be prepared to be swept into the story. Might not be the usual love birds but its worth being read. This book focuses on iterracial romance. The issues surrounding white and black couples. If looking for something sweet, then this is your book. I wont spoil anything for you but , I can relate to this ; I'm sure many others can too if ytou have had similar problems. Enjoyyyy!!!!!! The writer on June 17, 2012


★ ★ ★ ★ I loved the voice

I found the voice compelling. It felt as though Chrissie was talking to me personally. The compelling voice was a double-edged sword for me, though. Chrissie came across as your typical teenager in the way she thought, her actions, her descriptions. But she is not typical. Mark Venturini on April 10, 2011

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Love with a twist of Angel

This is not the sort of book I would normally read but when you need to find new things for the kids to read you have to try things! The story is generally well crafted with a guardian angel falling for a girl dying of cancer he should have taken across to the other side. It's a basic love story with a twist and it's this fantasy twist which keeps you reading. I found the last section a little disjointed from the whole but it's a good YA Book and I enjoyed it. MM on February 15, 2016


★ ★ ★ ★ Made me Tear Up

This book was so amazing because it is a love story with some adventure mixed in. Also it made me tear up more than once. My favorite character is Taylor because she is so brave about her cancer and she takes care of her mother. Charity Martinez on November 21, 2015


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ I loved this

This story was thought provoking and makes you stop and think - what if. Daimhin is tasked to escort the baby Taylor across the Valley of the Shadow of Death. He is unable to bring himself to do so, causing ripples and subtle changes caused by Taylor’s borrowed time. When her name comes up again 17 years later, Daimhin has to face not only the results of his past decisions, but the repercussions of his current choices. Love To Read! on June 30, 2015


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Amazing book

Would recommend to anyone looking for a love story! tiffany rios on March 11, 2015


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ A good and thought-provoking read

I was sent this book for review and found it to be an excellent read. Yes, it was a love story, but with a difference and (apart from typos/errors) it was very well written. I liked the characters who were realistic and believable, despite the fantasy element, being that the very real thoughts and feelings involved were very well done...I especially liked seeing into the 'feelings' of angels. It was a well thought out book, and maybe for a younger audience, however, I think that the fantasy would appeal to anyone who are intrigued by the concept of Heaven and what may happen to souls - and the idea of where they may go and how. Themes of love, redemption, punishment, loyalty and, most importantly, death, are steeped in this story. When is it our time to die? And is there someone to help at that time? And, what if love..? How can I say anything more without giving spoilers? AlwaysReading on September 3, 2014

The strength of characters is brought to the forefront gently by Ferreira, and I found myself really, really caring about Amber and hoping that Bradley would turn into someone worth loving. The scenes are very well written and the setting is dazzling. The Shape of My Soul by Lynette Ferreira will give you a satisfying feeling, both as you read and once you finish, as well as a desire to know more—much more—about Amber and her clan and how she will survive in the future. Trust me, it won’t be easy. “Oh. My. Effing. Snowball.” I think I have found a new expletive! - Reviewed by Dinah Roseberry for Readers' Favorite

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Changing shape

She is taken to the Scottish borders but was not told why. There she has a crush on a boy but there is a secret being hidden from her. What is that secret? How will it change her life? Will she be able to.cope with it all? See what happens. Tanyawriter on December 8, 2019


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Interesting and intriguing

This was an interesting and intriguing story about a girl named Amber. She didn’t know she was a shifter and that she could shift into many forms but had to choose one or choose to be human forever. Bradley was her childhood friend. They were both secretly in love with each other. He was also her tether. Amber was forced into a world she had no clue of. Elizabeth McDaniel on November 25, 2019


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Really well done

I did not realize what the title meant until it became relevant in the story. It was definitely startling and unexpected. I don’t usually do paranormal romances, but this one was very well done. The characters were deep and the story-line was great. Michaela on November 23, 2019


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ I loved it

This book was interesting. I didn't see any typos. I liked the characters and the story itself was unusual enough to keep my interest. I would recommend it. Wander on November 14, 2019


★ ★ ★ ★ Good Read

The book is a good teen and young adult read paranormal romance. The story has a good story line. The characters are good. The story is an enjoyable sweet paranormal romance read. Kimberly on November 10, 2019


★ ★ ★ ★ And she has a fun inner dialogue and sense of humor

This was a really enjoyable book, especially for fans of fantasy/paranormal. Amber is a totally identifiable heroine, despite her supernatural abilities. And she has a fun inner dialogue and sense of humor. Even though it's in the paranormal realm, at its heart this is a book about self discovery and first love. I would definitely recommend it! cjrs on January 4, 2017


★ ★ ★ ★ Quick read and fun characters

Great YA story in a beautiful Scotland setting. The characters were interesting and complex. Definitely an interesting take on the traditional shifter plot-line. Kind of a cliffhanger ending, making me wonder if there's more to the story. Alicia L. on November 10, 2016


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ A 5 STAR STORY!

I very much enjoyed this story and definitely recommend it! Lynette is a very talented author and her books capture the imagination and draw you into the story so that you feel like you are a part of it. I really felt for Amber during her loneliness and isolation and for having to make such a monumental decision at such a young age. I loved the relationship with her and Bradley, and what an ending - absolutely perfect in my opinion! This is a feel good story that will leave you smiling! CMS on October 27, 2016


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Totally Enjoyed!

I absolutely adored this story about Amber. She's such an endearing character and I could identify with her in many ways. A few times Amber made me laugh out loud - one particular reference about Chloe was a hoot! My favourite quotes: "For a hope to grow the ground needed to be watered and tended, and sadly that was something only love could accomplish," and "What does it matter what we look like on the outside, as long as our souls are free?" Just one more chapter! on October 18, 2016


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Unusual romance

What a lovely story of a young woman who has to make a huge choice that will affect her whole life as much as it will affect her protector. A great write from a great author, this book will fill you with delighted surprise and leave you with a warm glow. j harvey on October 14, 2016

★ ★ ★ ★ A choice

Vampires can not have children but somehow he did and as she grew the vampire gene grew stronger. She will soon be faced with a choice die or become a vampire. What will she pick? Will she want to die? Will she become a vampire? See what happens when faced with a cut wrist in front of her. Tanyawriter on 18 February 2021

★ ★ ★ ★ Good Read

The book is a good teen and young sweet romance read. The characters are good. The story is an enjoyable sweet romance read. Kimberly on October 21, 2019


★ ★ ★ ★ Kept me totally hooked until the very end!

I found this book to be a very enjoyable read with the good storyline and well created characters that kept me totally hooked until the very end! Pat on October 18, 2019


★ ★ ★ ★ ★ A beautiful - and interesting - story of love and loss.

I began this book in shock holding on to a sliver of hope that they can break a reincarnation cycle... Hope and pain. Gutrenching pain. Through everything, life goes on. Michaela on October 12, 2019

★ ★ ★ ★ Quick Read

I've read several books written by Lynette Ferreira; she has done a great job at writing a good book; she is becoming one of my favorite authors. I can’t wait to read more of her books. The story line caught my attention at the very beginning and kept me interested throughout the entire book. Jeanne Richardson on February 4, 2021